Home News
2018 Alfred Deakin International Commercial Arbitration Moot

Deakin Law School takes home top prize.

A team from Deakin Law School (DLS) has taken out the winning position in the 2018 Alfred Deakin International Commercial Arbitration Moot.

Nine teams from seven Victorian law schools (University of Melbourne, Monash University, Deakin University, La Trobe University, RMIT, Victoria University and Australian Catholic University – ACU) recently competed in the two-day event which was held at Deakin Downtown in Melbourne’s CBD.

The Deakin ICA Moot focuses on international commercial law and arbitration and challenges teams of undergraduate and Juris Doctor law students to seek resolution to an international business dispute.

Deakin Clinical Solicitor Rebecca Tisdale said the event – now in its second year – provides students with highly-valuable practical law experience.

‘The Alfred Deakin ICA Moot provided our students with a unique opportunity to engage with students from other Victorian law schools, the profession and to gain invaluable learning about international arbitration.’

Teams from ACU, Melbourne, Monash and Deakin all went through to the semi-finals which resulted in Monash and Deakin contesting in the grand final.

‘The quality of the presentation by all students, and particularly the finalists from Deakin and Monash, was very high.  The finalists demonstrated their understanding of the law, outstanding mooting abilities and professionalism,’ said Ms Tisdale.

Judges in the preliminary and semi-finals rounds comprised 23 Deakin alumni, many of whom have competed in the international Vis Moot during the DLS’s 25 year history with the competition. 

The grand final was judged by Mrs Caroline Kenny QC, President of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators Australia, Paul Santamaria QC, and Mr Duncan Travis, Partner at Allens (and also Deakin Vis Moot alumnus). 

Deakin law students James Bell and Emma Dixon (who participated in the prestigious Vis Moot in Hong Kong and Vienna earlier this year) represented Deakin’s winning team with Emma also winning the ‘Best Speaker in Grand Final’ prize.

‘The final result continues Deakin Law School’s rich tradition of successful mooting, including in the Willem C. Vis international mooting competition,’ said Ms Tisdale.

Results from the 2018 Alfred Deakin International Commercial Arbitration Moot:

  • Semi-finalists: Australian Catholic University, University of Melbourne, Monash University, Deakin University
  • Grand finalists: Monash University and Deakin University
  • Winners: Deakin University
  • Best Oralist (in rounds): Elise Jasper (Monash University)
  • Best Submission: RMIT
  • Best Speaker in Grand Final: Emma Dixon (Deakin University)
Posted in News