Home News
2020 Deakin Law School Academic Excellence Awards

Celebrating the exceptional work of Deakin Law School Students

The Academic Excellence Awards recognise the high achievements of students across Deakin Law School. Since we cannot join together to celebrate, we're marking this occasion online.

I am very proud of outstanding talent displayed amongst our students. To rise to the top is not an easy task and I extend my congratulations to each of the students named  on this list.
I also thank our sponsors who continue to support our top students. It is this kind of encouragement that inspires them to become the leaders of tomorrow.
Professor Jenni Lightowlers
Dean, Deakin Law School



Undergraduate Excellence Awards

Best Graduate in the Bachelor of Laws

Matthew Bucki-Smith

Supreme Court of Victoria

Best student in MLL110 Legal Principles and Skills

Hillary Tsang

Best student in Contracts – MLL111 Contract

Jack William Russ Enticott

Geelong Law Association

Best student in Criminal Law and Procedure – MLL114 Criminal Law

Cameron Bray

Geelong Law Association

Best student in MLL210 Family Law

Olivia Karabatsos

Best student in Torts – MLL213 Torts 

Felicity Jane Burt

Best student in Contracts – MLL215 Commercial Law

Madison Treadwell

Harwood Andrews

Best student in Criminal Law and Procedure – MLL218 Criminal Procedure

Michelle Pavlica

Best student in MLL225 Injuries Compensation Scheme

Gabrielle May Ashman

Worksafe Victoria

Best second student in MLL225 Injuries Compensation Scheme

Leila Frizza

Worksafe Victoria

Best third student in MLL225 Injuries Compensation Scheme

Ruby Anne Cordner

Worksafe Victoria

Best student in Ethics and Professional Responsibility – MLL235 Legal Practice and Ethics 

Liana Cheshire

Best student in Federal and State Constitutional Law – MLL323 Constitutional Law 

Jennifer Helen Clements

Arnold Bloch Leibler

Best student in Property – MLL325 Land Law 

James Royce

Geelong Law Association

Best student in Property – MLL327 Property 

Jed Thomas Lehmann

Best student in MLL329 Financial Services Regulation 

Holly Margaret Rose Adams

Best student in Company Law – MLL331 Corporate Law 

Jed Thomas Lehmann

Mast Lawyers

Best student in Evidence – MLL334 Evidence 

Dilshan Mathew Ranasinghe

Deakin Law Student Society

Best student in MLL342 Workplace Law 

Brianna Gabrielle Dodds

Best student in Civil Procedure – MLL391 Civil Procedure and Dispute Resolution

Olivia Madeline De Angelis

Best student in Equity – MLL405 Equity and Trusts 

Hannah Elizabeth Duxbury

Arnold Bloch Leibler

Best student in MLL406 Taxation 

Danielle King

Arnold Bloch Leibler

Best student in MLL409 Competition Law and Policy

Raymond Philip Joseph Radice

Arnold Bloch Leibler

Best student in MLL410 Intellectual Property 

Emma Pugliese

FAL Lawyers

Best student in Administrative Law – MLL424 Administrative Law

Holly Margaret Rose Adams

Australian Institute of Administrative Law



Postgraduate Excellence Awards

Best Graduate – Juris Doctor M729

Hui Wan

Best Student in MLM 717 – Financial Services Regulations 

Hayley Dodd

Best Graduate in the Master of Professional Accounting and Law M749

Archana Kataria



Dean's Merit List


Holly Margaret Rose ADAMS

Gabrielle May ASHMAN

Matthew Luke BUCKI-SMITH

Andreas Nicolas CROFT

Madeleine Lee DOULL

Jordan Phillip EITLER

Melissa Kate ELLERAY

Jackson Lee GIBSON

Stephanie JOHNSON

Danielle KING

Ece Eylem ONAL



Sarah Carolyn WARD


Anh Thu TRAN

Thien Trang TRAN


Gold sponsor

Bronze sponsors

Posted in News